NEWS STORIES - Updated 3/7/17

The Schaefer Award


The Schaefer Award is the most coveted award presented by the Weather Modification Association.  The recipient is chosen by the Board of Directors and the Awards Committee, from candidates nominated by the committee and/or the general membership.  The award is not generally presented every year.  The recipient receives a plaque which is inscribed with the following:

"For scientific and technological discoveries that have constituted a major contribution to the advancement of weather modification."

Recipient Year Location
Vincent J. Schaefer 1976 Los Angeles, California
Bernard Vonnegut 1977 Salt Lake City, Utah
Robert D. Elliot 1978 Tucson, Arizona
Joanne Simpson 1979 Reno, Nevada
William G. Finnegan 1980 Santa Barbara, California
Abraham Gagin 1982 Fresno, California
Joseph A. Warburton 1985

Monterey, California

Roscoe R. Braham, Jr. 1987 Albuquerque, New Mexico
Lewis O. Grant 1991 Ontario, California
Harold D. Orville 2003 Rapid City, South Dakota
Thomas J. Henderson 2003 Rapid City, South Dakota
William L. Woodley 2005 Rockville, Maryland
Daniel Rosenfeld 2007 San Francisco, California
William Cotton 2012 Las Vegas, Nevada
Roelof Bruinjtes 2013 San Antonio, Texas
WMA, PO Box 845, Riverton, Utah, 84065, USA , Phone: +1 801-598-4392
Questions about this site? Email the WMA Webmaster
Copyright 2001-2017 Weather Modification Association
Designed and developed by MaltaNetwork