NEWS STORIES - Updated 3/7/17

The Black Crow Award


The Black Crow Award is presented to those individuals who for one reason or another have found themselves plagued with an extraordinary number of adversities or mishaps. Of course, the true cause of these adversities can frequently be traced directly to the recipients themselves.  The "Crow" is presented at each annual meeting in partial recompense for those misfortunes suffered during the previous year.  The recipient is chosen from nomiations made to the Awards Committee.

Recipient Year Location
Hoyt Hart 1973 Austin, Texas
Keith J. Brown 1974 Huntington Beach, California
Thomas J. Henderson 1975 Santa Barbara, California
Stanley A. Changnon 1976 Los Angeles, California
Conrad G. Keyes, Jr. 1977 Salt Lake City, Utah
Ray Jay Davis 1978 Tuscon, Arizona
William Carley 1979 Reno, Nevada
Paul Mielke, Jr. 1980 Santa Barbara, California
Larry Davis 1981 Fort Collins, Colorado
Merlin Williams 1982 Fresno, California
William G. Finnegan 1983 Champaign, Illinois
R. Lynn Rose 1984 Bismarck, North Dakota
Ralph Papania 1985 Monterey, California
Wilbur Brewer 1986 Arlington, Virginia
Barbara Welles 1987 Albuquerque, New Mexico
Larry W. Rowe 1988 Costa Mesa, California
Robert D. Elliott 1989 Park City, Utah
Maurice Roos 1990 Sparks, Nevada
John C. Lease 1991 Ontario, California
Joseph H. Golden 1992 Denver, Colorado
Keith J. Brown 1993 Scottsdale, Arizona
Mark E. Solak 1994 San Antonio, Texas
Don A. Griffith 1995 Durango, Colorado
Dennis W. Sundie 1996 Monterey, California
Bruce A. Boe 1997 Las Vegas, Nevada
George W. Bomar 1998 Park City, Utah
no award given 1999 Banff, Alberta, Canada
Richard Stone 2000 Lubbock, Texas
Roger Tilbury 2001 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Thomas P. DeFelice 2002 Reno, Nevada
Joe Busto 2003 Rapid City, South Dakota
Darin Langerud 2004 Fresno, California
Conrad Keyes, Jr. 2005 Rockville, Maryland
Steve Hunter 2006 San Antonio, Texas
Thomas J.Ryan 2007 San Francisco, California
Tara Jensen 2008 Westminster, Colorado
Byron Marler 2009 Anaheim, California
Arquimedes "Archie" Ruiz 2010

Santa Fe, New Mexico

Thomas J. Ryan 2011

Park City, Utah

Todd Flanagan 2012 Las Vegas, Nevada
Tom DeFelice 2014 Reno, Nevada
Barry Lawrence 2015 Fargo, North Dakota
Charlie Harper 2016 Long Beach, California
WMA, PO Box 845, Riverton, Utah, 84065, USA , Phone: +1 801-598-4392
Questions about this site? Email the WMA Webmaster
Copyright 2001-2017 Weather Modification Association
Designed and developed by MaltaNetwork